Primary Care Commissioning Committee

NHS Walsall Clinical Commissioning Group has been delegated responsibility from NHS England to commission GP primary care services since 2016. The CCG is passionate about improving its quality across all practices and the introduction of this delegation is seen as an essential step towards expanding and strengthening primary medical care.

As such, the CCG has a Primary Care Commissioning Committee (PCCC). The role of the committee is to make decisions on the review, planning and procurement of primary care services in Walsall, under delegated authority from NHS England.

The Primary Care Commissioning Committee meets bi-monthly and is held in public. All are welcome to attend and observe the meeting. The Primary Care Committee members are as followed:

  • Mike Abel – Chair (Lay member of Walsall CCG Governing Body)
  • Rachel Barber – Vice-Chair (Lay member of Walsall CCG Governing Body)
  • James Green – CCG Chief Financial Officer
  • Sally Roberts – Chief Nursing Officer/Director of Quality
  • Donna Macarthur – CCG Director of Primary Care & Integration
  • Carol Marston – CCG Commissioning Manager